John P Feighner and classification

John P. Feighner, MD and his associates were unsatisfied with the DSM II claiming that, “the diagnostic classification is based upon the “best clinical judgement and experience” of a committee and its consultants,” and came up with a contrasting form of classification. They contended, “this communication will present a diagnostic classification validated primarily by follow-up and family studies. The following criteria for establishing diagnostic validity in psychiatric illness have been described elsewhere and may be divided into five phases.”

  • The Five Phases (click for full original content)
  • Summary:
  • Phase 1Clinical Description – This includes using many factors such as symptoms, striking features, race, age at onset, sex, percipitating factors and any other pertinent information to paint a clinical picture of the disorder.
  • Phase 2Laboratory Studies – This involves chemical, physiological, radiological, and anatomical (biopsy and autopsy) findings.
  • Phase 3Delimitation From Other Disorders – exclusion criteria
  • Phase 4 – Follow-up Study – Following up with patients to see if they still meet the original diagnosis.
  • Phase 5 Family Study – Most psychiatric illnesses have been shown to run in families.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.